My Top 10 Movies of 2013


2013  ends tonight, and while the movies is not as bombastic as 2012, it is AWESOME in its own rights. I realized that I watched over a dozen movies this year, and I hope I can watch even more next year because I’m reviewing movies now. So, this is my own personal favorite movies!

man-of-steel-poster

10) Man of Steel

Man of Steel is my most anticipated movie of the year, yet it’s the most underwhelming of the bunch. I tried to like the movie, but in the end all I have is a mixed opinion of the movie. It’s good, but it’s bad. Hopefully the sequel will be much better, even though I steel don’t agree that Ben Affleck is Batman and not Karl Urban.

600full-kamen-rider-×-kamen-rider-wizard-&-fourze--movie-war-ultimatum-poster

9) Kamen Rider Wizard & Fourze: Movie War Ultimatum

Ha! A Toku movie beats an iconic superhero movie!…. At least in my opinion. Anyways this movie is what you expected for a Tokusatsu movie. Lots of action. Lots of special effect. The plot is okay, but I do feel the movie is a little weaker than the previous Movie War due to the lack of Wizard & Fourze’s interaction, and OOO is stuck to a cameo instead of a guest sempai.

St_Destruction_English_Intl_1sht

8) Star Trek into Darkness

I’m not really a Trekkie, since I got into Star Trek with the 2009 movie. Also, I never watched Wrath of Khan, because I’m afraid that I will ditch this movie for being a remake. Nevertheless despite the movie being AWESOME in its own right, I do feel like it’s a little disappointment, comparing to the first movie. And Bones have lesser screen time than usual, that’s sad. But at least Cumberbatch’s portrayal of Khan is AWESOME. Look, he is different than the original Khan. Consider this Khan and the original Khan to be like Jack Nicholson’s Joker & Heath Ledger’s Joker. They’re both different.

iron-man-3-international-poster

7) Iron Man 3

This movie is the biggest hit and miss other than Man of Steel. Aside from the Mandarin controversy, what I didn’ like about this movie is that they tried to include Tony Stark in many shots as possible because this is supposed to be his final movie in his initial contract. As such, we get to see lesser Iron Man. And they completely butchered Mark 42, whom I expected to be really cool because of the design.

thor the dark world poster

6) Thor: The Dark World

It’s way better than fellow Iron Man 3, because it’s just a simple movie that’s meant to show the further adventures of Thor without the Avengers or SHIELD. Truth to be honest peopleget hyped over this movie because of Loki. We all love Loki.

The-Wolverine-Japan-Poster

5) The Wolverine

I originally did not plan to watch this movie at all. But it turns out that this movie is the best superhero movie of the year. It’s straightforward, doesn’t take any risks, and all in all just a smashing popcorn movie. Setting it in Japan earns this movie a higher spot than Thor. That and Hugh Jackman’s abs always makes me have a man crush on him. And dat legs~

pacific_rim_ver12_xlg

4) Pacific Rim

It’s a Toku movie. A HOLLYWOOD TOKU MOVIE THAT APPEALS TO AUDIENCE. How can I not like this? Guillermo del Toro did a great job at paying homage to Tokusatsu, and part of me hopes that this will be the precursor to Tokusatsu’s rise in Hollywood because next year we have Godzilla. And Hideo Kojima even said, this is the “ultimate otaku movie”.

Hobbit_the_desolation_of_smaug_ver15_xlg

3) The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

I gotta be honest, I’m not a really big fan of the Middle Earth series, because if I were this movie would’ve been number 1 on my list. This movie is great because it fastens up the pacing of the previous movie, and give the fans what they truly wanted after fucking us with An Unexpected Journey. Again, Cumberbatch is the greatest performer in the movie. He’s got to be the best actor of 2013.

thehungergams-catchingfire-ukposter

2) The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

I enjoyed this movie to death. I’m a big fan because I feel like this series is the one that can succeed Harry Potter as those adapted-from-novel movies. This movie retains all of the positive elements of the first one, and corrected the problems, as a result it got a higher rating on Rotten Tomatoes. And I love Jennifer Lawrence. Wish I could meet her.

gravity_xlg

1) Gravity

I’m ashamed that I didn’t review this movie back then. It was so AWESOME. Really AWESOME. I mean, at the time I just wanted to watch a movie, and I expected nothing from this movie. But unlike The Wolverine, this one blows my mind. The acting, the special effects, the thrill, it really is AWESOME! This one deserves multiple Oscars if it weren’t already. Truly the best space-themed movie I’ve ever watched in my whole life since Armageddon (Yes I love that piece of shit because I was little at the time and Michael Bay targets his movie to young boys so it hit me through the spot).

Honorable mentions: This is the End and Oz: The Great and Powerful. Also, I didn’t get to watch Rush and American Hustle. I didn’t have the time to watch Rush, and American Hustle wasn’t shown in theaters in my country, the same thing they did with Silver Linings Playbook last year. If I watched more than 20 movies in 2014, there’s a chance I will also make a Top 10 Worst List. It’s too little for 2013 because I didn’t watch that many to make one.

Leave a Reply

